quinta-feira, 29 de julho de 2010


Click the picture to enlarge it.
Wuji (Wu-chi) Taiji (T'ai-chi)

"1. Wuji: The open circle at the center has no divisions. It represents the great limitlessness that is our origin.
2. Yin and Yang: The solid line represents yang, and the broken line represents yin. Yin and yang are the first separation after limitlessness.
3. The Four Images: Yin and yang take on their first pairings with one another, forming four combinations.
4. The Early Heaven Eight Trigrams: This is Fu Xi's arrangement of the Eight Trigrams. The arrangement is read counter clockwise. Opposite trigrams are arranged across from one another.
5. The Early Heaven Sixty-Four Hexagrams: This arrangement is read from the top and center outward on either side. One begins from heaven (at the "top" of the circle) and meets the other side at the "bottom" on earth. One can begin from heaven, only to find all lines reversing themselves after passing the point marked by earth. A blank band between the fifth and sixth circle marks King Wen's revolutionary rearrangement of the Eight Trigrams and the Sixty-Four Hexagrams.
6. The Later Heaven Eight Trigrams: King Wen's Eight Trigrams pattern, expressing the cyclical, seasonal, and directional nature of change. This pattern unites the Five Phases and the Eight Trigrams. It is read clockwise.
7. The Later Heaven Sixty-Four Hexagrams: The sequence is read clockwise. Odd-numbered hexagrams generate the following evennumbered hexagram by reversing their lines in a yin-yang exchange. Thus, every other hexagram is the inverse of the preceding one. In turn, even-numbered hexagrams are linked to subsequent hexagrams. Each hexagram is built from six lines, and these lines symbolize time and position. The lowest line is early in a situation and subordinate in position. The highest line is late in a situation and retiring in position. By the logic of the Changes, that which is late in a cycle changes to its opposite, and generates a new cycle. Thus, each hexagram represents a cycle."
Deng Ming-Dao

Sem comentários: